Hard a Starboard, Kootenay Division!

This week I had a realization.

I was on the wrong tack.

My plan was taking on water.

I had to stop making naval references.

Upon my completion of the benchwork from Castlegar to the east switch of the summit siding of Farron, I began looking toward the next section – the 11 foot pair of sections encompassing Farron siding and a delightful little pond on McRae Creek. then it hit me – If I built that, how would I get lumber from the saw to the rest of the layout? For you see, though it’s fairly high off the ground, I also realized that I could add some house-like framing made of 2x4s to give a huge amount of stability to it. Can’t fit lumber through THOSE openings! So even though I already had the rest of the lumber cut and was maybe 2 months from having a fully operational grade to the summit and a place to turn my trains…

…I decided to build the rest of the benchwork first. ‘Cause then I could use my saw easily and stuff.

This meant a big ol’ pile of lumber. What you can’t see are the 40 or so members already cut and hiding under the layout.

20130921 9

The lower deck will be standard L girder, the same as under Castlegar. The upper deck will continue the design that I’ll outline in the next post. I already managed to get all the lower deck done save for legs and braces. Quick, huh?

2 thoughts on “Hard a Starboard, Kootenay Division!

Leave a Reply

