How to build above layout storage!

Pressed for space?

Can’t find a place to store your crap?

Build a crapinet cabinet!

A cabinet is, in its essence, an enclosed shelf. So, here’s how I did it:

You may recall that my upper deck is supported by a series of 1x4s hung from L girders on the ceiling.

20130921 5

The shelf is made of 3/4 plywood. It’s as deep as the upper deck is, and is supported from the back by screwing directly to the upper supports. I also attached a 3/4″ sheet to the ceiling screwed directly into the ceiling joists to stop dust from getting in from above. From this, I added a sheet of 1/4″ sheet of plywood on either side to keep it all the right shape, plus some extra 1×2 struts, one on each end and one in the middle.

20131117 3

20131117 2

There is a 1×4 attached to the bottom to shield whatever lights I end up putting there. There is as little space between the bottom of the shelf and the layout as I felt I could get away with.

The doors are 1/4″ hardboard in aluminum channels. The channels are attached to the shelf with nails, and I ground the heads flat with a dremel tool so the doors would slide smoothly over them.

20131117 4

They slide nicely, and look good together!

20131117 5

So yeah, that’s that. Nice and easy, and great for storage!

20131117 6

Hope this helps. If you have questions, just leave a comment!

6 thoughts on “How to build above layout storage!

  1. What thickness plywood did you use for the base of the cabinet that the stored items sit on? Looking to borrow this idea in several places on my layout, though I don’t have the luxury of having an unfinished overhead to anchor things to. Trying to make cabinets that are not collapsible onto the layout.

    1. I used 3/4″ ply for the main shelf, as well as the top and verticals. If you’ve looked around my blog, you’ll see that I use 3/4 ply for a lot of my benchwork, too, so I have piles of it sitting around. If you can’t anchor directly into the floor joists, I’d recommend using toggle bolts every few inches – These are meant to be heavy and solid! If you can screw into the joists, I recommend using #8 or #10/2-1/2″ wood screws to make sure they’re right solid.

Leave a Reply

